Poetry: Air



I looked to the sky and saw simplicity. And in that moment, I understood why the dove symbolizes peace.

Because with my feet on the ground, I still feel the weight of the world on me. I want a breath of that fresh air. I want to feel free.

But instead, too often I feel myself suffocating.

Exhaling far more than I inhale. Giving more than I take demands a lot out of me.

I looked up and saw that the sky wasn’t as cluttered as my mind and I envied what I feared.

The birds are oblivious to their privilege.

They don’t even know why they sing!

What did they do to deserve that peace.. that air.. that freedom… that wind beneath those wings?

I am a prisoner to the earth and my mind while they cut through space and time. And me, I feel like I could never have enough of it.

I dream of the day that a bird offers me their wings for my feet.

I know exactly why the caged bird sings but for the life of me.. I can’t figure out why the free bird would ever choose to land in this complexity.

unnamed

Leave a Reply

